The following email arrived overnight, and it looks very realistic. Sent from ‘hallmark.com’, with graphics that outlook blocked (and probably a good job too), it contains the following message:

“Hello!

You have recieved a Hallmark E-Card.

To see it, click here,

There’s something special about that E-Card feeling. We invite you to make a friend’s day and send one.

Hope to see you soon,
Your friends at Hallmark

Your privacy is our priority. Click the “Privacy and Security” link at the bottom of this E-mail to view our policy. “

Apart from the careless spelling of ‘received’, it looks good. But follow that link and you have just installed a virus. Instead of going to the Hallmark website, it goes to http://211.137.202.133/hallmark.exe. An anonymous website and that hallmark.exe will no doubt be a virus. Click the link and you could have spyware, keystroke logging or anything installed.

For me, it was simple to spot. It was sent to a rarely used email address. It didn’t include the name of the sender or recipient, and putting the mouse over the link showed it was nothing to do with Hallmark.

The email has been binned. Do the same if you receive one of these fake emails.

Digg This
Reddit This
Stumble Now!
Buzz This
Vote on DZone
Share on Facebook
Bookmark this on Delicious
Kick It on DotNetKicks.com
Shout it
Share on LinkedIn
Bookmark this on Technorati
Post on Twitter
Google Buzz (aka. Google Reader)

Related posts:

  1. Another Fake Hallmark Scam
  2. 100,000 UK Computers Affected By 1 Trojan
  3. PayPal GoDaddy Phishing Email
  4. Sample PayPal Phishing Email
  5. Virus Infected XP Machines Not Getting Security Updates
  6. Apple Store Order Notify / Apple Store Order Cancellation
  7. Warnings of Anti-Virus cold phone calls
  8. Warning: Error in your Hosting account information.
  9. Threat Of Fake Anti-Virus Grows
  10. PayPal Dispute Transaction ID: 99K3429875?4387UK49